Americans Can't Visit These Countries Due to COVID-19 - COVID-19 Clinical Trial
General Information | COVID-19

Americans Can’t Visit These Countries Due to COVID-19

    Add a header to begin generating the table of contents

    Before COVID-19 arrived to dominate every facet of our lives, Americans enjoyed freedom of travel without a second thought. U.S citizens could hop on a plane to Germany, China, England, or anywhere else around the globe as long as they had a passport and a ticket. 

    But as the number of coronavirus cases in the U.S continues to surge, Americans find themselves unwelcome or even forbidden in most major countries. In fact, many international airport terminals are completely shuttered and dark. 

    If you find yourself struck with a sense of wanderlust, make sure you know where you can and can’t go. 

    European Union 

    The European Union encompasses a total of 28 European countries, including Italy, Germany, France, Spain, Sweden, Poland, and the Netherlands. On July 16, the EU published a revised list of “safe” countries from which it will allow travelers, but the USA is still notably not included on that list.  

    The only Americans who have a chance of gaining entry to the countries of our European allies are those who can prove the following urgent reasons: work, study, medical needs, to return to a place of residence, or for other reasons of absolute necessity. A 14-day quarantine period is required, as are COVID-19 tests in many countries. 

    The United Kingdom 

    At the beginning of July, England reduced travel restrictions for residents visiting from more than 50 countries. However, the restrictions are still in place for travelers coming from the United States. As of July 10, the only way Americans can visit England is to agree to quarantine for 14 days after arrival. 

    Where Can Americans Go? 

    If you’re itching to travel, there are many countries allowing Americans to enter as long as they can pass enhanced screening measures. Many are Caribbean islands like Aruba, which began allowing U.S travelers on July 10 as long as they upload a negative COVID-19 test before flying or agree to take a test at the airport upon arrival. 

    Commercial flights from New York to Barbados are expected to return on July 25. U.S travelers must have the results of a negative COVID-19 test no more than 72 hours before arrival or a test will be performed upon landing in Barbados. All international visitors are also subject to temperature checks, mandatory masks, and personal health screenings. 

    Bermuda is enforcing one of the most extensive screening processes. All U.S visitors must pay a $75 fee to cover the cost of mandatory in-country COVID-19 testing. These tests are given at the airport upon arrival and again on days three, seven, and 14 of a traveler’s stay. All visitors must also bring their own thermometers and face masks. 

    Other international destinations accepting Americans on strict screening terms include the Dominican Republic, French Polynesia, Jamaica, Maldives, Puerto Rico, St. Lucia, and Turkey. 


    Share this:

    Your choice regarding cookies on this site

    We use cookies to optimize site functionality and give you the best experience. Necessary cookies enable core functionality. The website cannot function properly without these cookies and can only be disabled by changing your browser preferences.

    For more detailed information on the cookies we use, please check our Privacy Policy.

    By continuing to access this website you are giving us consent to collect cookies.

    Want to stay informed?

    With an ever-changing situation like COVID-19, it’s important to stay as tuned in as possible. Submit your information below so we can send you periodic updates.